Cinema simply different


It was supposed to be a quiet holiday in a forest hut. But after playing a mysterious tape, Ash (B-Movie icon Bruce Campbell) suddenly stands there with a dead girlfriend and no chance to escape. Dark forces have made Ash the target of demonic games. And so the dance of the devils begins …

In Evil Dead II: Dead by Dawn, director Sam Raimi is really rampaging in the splatter genre with his penchant for slapstick. A severed head that bites its way to the main character’s hand, laughing hysterically, is just the beginning. Whether it’s a remake, a sequel or a parody of his six years older work The Evil Dead, remains to be seen.

Anyway, it soon becomes clear: This is a horror movie of a different kind. Raimi obviously enjoys driving the great Campbell and his Ash into madness more and more, while Gore and humor slip hand in hand from one shot to the next. His violent nightmare thus becomes an extremely amusing horror comedy for the audience, full of poignant lines, flying body parts and variously colored blood fountains: “Groovy!”

Alicia Schümperli

Translated by Carlos Hartmann


Other films in this program

Temporär im Kino Riffraff


Es sollte ein ruhiger Urlaub in einer Waldhütte werden. Doch nach Abspielen eines mysteriösen Tonbands steht Ash (B-Movie-Ikone Bruce Campbell) plötzlich mit einer toten Freundin und ohne Fluchtmöglichkeiten da. Dunkle Kräfte haben sich Ash zur Zielscheibe dämonischer Spielchen gemacht. Und so beginnt der Tanz der Teufel …

In Evil Dead II: Dead by Dawn tobt sich Regisseur Sam Raimi mit seiner Vorliebe für Slapstick so richtig im Splatter-Genre aus. Ein abgetrennter Kopf, der sich hysterisch lachend an der Hand der Hauptfigur festbeisst, ist erst der Anfang. Ob es sich hierbei um ein Remake, eine Fortsetzung oder eine Parodie seines sechs Jahren älteren Werks The Evil Dead handelt, sei einmal dahingestellt.

Jedenfalls ist schnell klar: Dies ist ein Horrorfilm der etwas anderen Art. Raimi macht sich sichtlich einen Spass daraus, den grossartigen Campbell und seinen Ash immer mehr in den Wahnsinn zu treiben, wobei Gore und Humor Hand in Hand von einer Einstellung zur nächsten flutschen. Dessen gewaltgeladener Albtraum wird somit für das Publikum zu einer äusserst amüsanten Horrorkomödie voller pointierter Sprüche, fliegender Körperteile und verschiedenfarbiger Blutfontänen: „Groovy!“.

Alicia Schümperli


Weitere Filme in diesem Zyklus