Cinema simply different


Like any other year, the water of the ocean south of Japan’s coast turns blood-red. Thousands of dolphins are gruesomely hunted down towards the bay, where they will get slaughtered or captured to be sold to dolphinariums. A film crew from the United States was able to shoot footage of this massacre, against prohibition, and created a rightfully award-winning documentary.

Apart from the brutal treatment of the animals in captivity, the documentary also discusses the health risks related to the consumption of dolphin flesh, as well as the corruption of international organisations legally enabling these practices.

Out of fear of protests and violence, the film was only shown twice at Japanese theatres. To still point out the injustices and abuses, the crew decided to release the film for free.

The Cove is nothing for faint-hearted animal lovers, as the film displays the problems related to the dolphin hunt, which is covered up by numerous Japanese organisations. A scandalous documentary that is not to be missed in this semester’s program.

Fleming Bruckmaier

Übersetzung: Lucia Arnold


Other films in this program

Temporär im Kino Riffraff


In einem kleinen Fischerdorf an der Südküste Japans färbt sich jährlich das Meer blutrot. Tausende Delfine werden bei einer grausamen Treibjagd in eine Bucht getrieben, um entweder an Delfinarien verkauft zu werden oder in der Fleischtheke zu landen. Einem Filmteam aus den Vereinigten Staaten gelang es mit grossem Aufwand Aufnahmen des Gemetzels zu machen und wurde für die daraus entstandene Doku zurecht mit einem Oscar belohnt.

Neben dem grausamen Umgang mit den gefangenen Tieren werden in der Doku sowohl die Gesundheitsrisiken, die mit dem Konsum von Delfinfleisch verbunden sind als auch die Korruption in internationalen Organisationen aufgedeckt, mit der die angewandten Praktiken legal gehalten werden.

Der Film wurde in Japan aus Angst vor Protesten und Gewalt nur zweimal im Kino gezeigt. Um trotz allem auf die Missstände hinzuweisen, entschlossen sich die Produzenten ihre Doku schliesslich umsonst zu verbreiten.

The Cove ist definitiv nichts für Tierliebhaber mit schwachen Nerven, doch zeigt der Film klare Probleme in der Delfinjagd auf, die von diversen japanischen Organisationen unter den Teppich gekehrt wurden. Eine skandalöse Doku, die in diesem Zyklus natürlich nicht fehlen darf!

Fleming Bruckmaier


Weitere Filme in diesem Zyklus