Cinema simply different


Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!

Ladies and gentlemen – welcome to violence!

The dancers Billie, Varla, and Rosie are wild, loud, and have a refined taste in fast cars. During one of their trips into the desert they meet Tommy and Linda. The challenge to race soon turns in a fight to the death, which Tommy loses. To cover their tracks, the three amazons kidnap Linda and disappear into the desert.

Russ Meyer, Hollywood’s enfant terrible with a penchant for busty women, shows off his substantial talent in this low-budget production. With its simple means, but solid aesthetics, fabulous editing and a pitch perfect sense of provocation, Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! advanced to one of the first greats of the Exploitation genre. It is also one of the first films to show strong and violent women. Women who take whatever they want, using means that had till then been reserved for men.

 

Death Race 2000

Rolling, roaring, 2000 PS strong latex-machetes of death

In a not too far removed future, the year 2000, all nations are obsolete. Instead, the world is ruled by a single totalitarian state. The population is kept docile with “bread and circus”. Every year, lethal races are held in which the various provinces compete (Hunger Games copied a good part of its plot from here!). For the amusement of the general populace riveted to their television sets, the drivers are incentivized through special perks to kill as artfully as possible any unfortunate passers-by — often with a machete attached to the grille. And right in the middle of it all the great favorite: Frankenstein, a mysterious driver clad in black latex. Yet it appears that the government’s man is playing a double game…

Although the social critique typical for a dystopian plot is there, it is entirely eclipsed by cartoonish slapstick, eccentric humor, a latex-fetish, and last but not least Sly Stallones acting. Death Race 2000 is a bizarre, funny, irreplaceable jewel of Nonsense-Exploitation. Not recommended for fans of serious Science-Fiction, but great fun for everybody else!

Alexander Streb

Translated by Michael Schmutzer


Other films in this program

Temporär im Kino Riffraff


Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!

Ladies and gentlemen – welcome to violence!

Die Tänzerinnen Varla, Rosie und Billie sind hart, laut und haben einen feinen Geschmack für schnelle Autos. Bei einer ihrer Fahrten in die Wüste begegnen sie Tommy und Linda. Die Herausforderung zum Rennen wird schnell ausgesprochen, endet aber in einem tödlichen Streit, bei dem Tommy den Kürzeren zieht. Die drei Amazonen nehmen daraufhin das Mädchen als Pfand auf der Flucht durch die Wüste.

Russ Meyer, Hollywoods Schmuddelkind mit der Vorliebe für grossbusige Frauen, lässt in diesem billig produzierten Werk sein eigentlich grosses Talent aufblitzen. Mit einfachsten Mitteln, aber Sinn für Ästhetik, famosem Schnitt und dem richtigen Gespür für Provokation, avancierte Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! zu einem der Vorreiter des Exploitationgenres und nebenbei zu einem Film, der als einer der ersten starke und gewalttätige Frauenfiguren zeigt. Frauen, die sich nehmen was sie wollen und dabei zu Mitteln greifen, wie man es sonst nur von Männern im Film kannte.

 

Death Race 2000

Rollende, 2000 PS-starke Latex-Macheten des Todes

In einer nicht allzu fernen Zukunft, dem Jahr 2000, sind alle Staaten zerfallen. An ihre Stelle ist ein autokratisches System getreten. Die Bevölkerung wird mit „Brot und Spiele“ bei Laune gehalten. Jedes Jahr finden tödliche Strassenrennen statt, bei denen die verschiedenen Provinzen gegeneinander antreten (Hunger Games hat hier ordentlich geklaut!). Zur Belustigung des gemeinen Pöbels daheim vor den Fernsehgeräten werden die Fahrer*innen durch spezielle Boni zusätzlich motiviert, Passant*innen und Unbeteiligte kunstvoll, oft mit einer am Kühlergrill angebrachten Machete, zu töten. Mittendrin der grosse Favorit: ein in schwarzem Latex gekleideter, mysteriöser Fahrer namens Frankenstein. Doch der angebliche Mann der Regierung scheint ein doppeltes Spiel zu treiben …

Die durchaus vorhandenen, für eine Dystopie typischen, sozialkritischen Töne geraten durch cartoonhaften Slapstick, überdrehten Humor, Latex-Fetisch und nicht zuletzt Sly Stallones Schauspiel völlig in den Hintergrund. Death Race 2000 ist ein skurril-komisches, einzigartiges Nonsense-Exploitation-Juwel. Nichts für Freunde ernsthafter Science-Fiction, aber ein grosser Spass für alle anderen!

Alexander Streb


Weitere Filme in diesem Zyklus